top of page

Pumpkin Squares

Once September rolls around I'm in the market for all things pumpkin! Pumpkin coffee, pumpkin oatmeal, pumpkin cookies, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin ice cream. You name it I've probably made it or at least tried it. (With the exception of pumpkin hot dogs! Yes they exist and no I definitely haven't tried them!)My favorite pumpkin recipe of all times is a recipe for "Pumpkin Squares". The recipe came from my husbands family. I had my first pumpkin square in the fall of 2009 at his moms house and I have been making them every fall since then. His grandmothers recipe for them was actually framed in the kitchen of our last home.

The name pumpkin squares is a bit deceiving. It's really a pumpkin sheet cake simply cut into squares. But it's the most delicious pumpkin sheet cake you'll ever try! I've included the recipe below! I promise you won't be disappointed. They make the perfect fall desert, we usually indulge in these while watching It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown.

Let me know what you think!

Pumpkin Squares

From the Jansen Family Kitchen

4 eggs

1 2/3 cup sugar

1 cup oil

16oz can pumpkin purée

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease a 9x11 baking dish. Mix the eggs, sugar and oil together, then add the purée until mixed evenly. Add all ingredients and mix until combined. Pour into prepared baking dish and bake for 25-30 mins.Cool and frost with the Perfect Cream Cheese Frosting! (Recipe below)

Perfect Cream Cheese Frosting

From the Jansen Family Kitchen

3oz cream cheese

1/2 cup softened butter

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups powdered sugar

Mix cream cheese, butter and vanilla together with an electric mixer, once combined gradually add in powdered sugar. Lick the beaters from the mixer and frost your Pumpkin Squares!


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page