top of page

Hospital Packing List

With this being my third baby, I originally didn't put too much thought into my hospital packing list. As my due date approached I was quickly reminded that it's been more than three years since I have had a baby and had to pack for the hospital. Not to mention, my last birth was a planned c-section which made preparing a lot easier. I am attempting a VBA2C (vaginal birth after two c-sections) this time around, so things are a little different.

I have been setting stuff aside to pack for the last month or so, but I didn't really have everything one hundred percent ready to go until right at 39 weeks. If you are a first time mom, or you know you usually go into labor early, I recommend being ready by 37 weeks or earlier. I am currently 40 + 1 and my bags are anxiously waiting by the front door!

Below is a list of what I packed for myself and baby, as well as a general packing list for Dad.

For Mom

  • Clothes to wear during labor (you can wear a gown but a lot of hospitals will let you wear your own clothes to be more comfortable)

  • Comfy Robe for after labor

  • Nursing Tanks (Target has awesome ones, or if you're looking for a cheaper option, I just bought this two pack off Amazon and they are SO COMFORTABLE)

  • Comfortable Nursing Bras

  • Nipple Cream

  • Lotion (for back rubs during labor)

  • Towel from home (hospital towels are small and not very soft)

  • BIG comfortable underwear

  • Facial Wipes

  • Going home outfit

  • Toiletries (tooth brush, tooth paste,makeup, hair stuff)

  • Chap-stick

  • Flip Flops/Shower Shoes

  • Socks (I bring compression socks for swelling because the nurse in me says I should)

  • Snacks

  • Nursing Pillow

  • Camera

  • Phone charger

  • Birth Plan

  • Insurance Paperwork

For Baby

  • Swaddle (the velcro swaddles are awesome and so are the muslin blankets)

  • Mittens or outfits with fold over sleeves so they don't scratch themselves

  • Nail clippers (my kids have always been born with long nails and the hospital only ever has nail files)

  • 2-3 Outfits for the hospital (these tops are my favorite because they make diaper changes very easy! They are always swaddled anyways)

  • Newborn Hat (not a necessity, but I have always brought ones with bows for my daughters)

  • Going Home Outfit

  • Car Seat

  • Pacifier (if you want your baby to use one)

  • PAPER WORK FILE FOLDER (see picture below)

Bring a file folder for all the hospital paperwork you will receive. I was given one of these as a gift for my second daughter and it was one of the most useful things we received. I now have one for both children to keep their health records and doctors visits organized.

For Dad

  • comfortable clothes

  • socks/underwear

  • phone charger

  • snacks & money for vending machine

  • toiletries

  • pillow from home

If you read this list and feel like I should add something, I would love to hear your advice! I will make sure to update it after delivery if there is anything else I feel like I should have included.

Thanks for reading!

Jayna


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page