top of page

The Easiest Christmas Tree Garland

If you’ve ever strung popcorn to hang on your Christmas tree you know how tedious and painful it can be (literally painful, you probably need a thimble). My mom and I strung seven bags last year and it looked adorable but to be honest it wasn’t worth the hassle. I wanted something this year that was easier and just as cute. I love all the cute Pom Pom garlands floating around Instagram and instantly knew I could replicated something similar on my own with items I already had on hand. I used a sewing needle, thread and wait for it ... cotton balls for this years garland! The project is pretty self explanatory, but feel free to continue reading for some helpful tips.

Materials Needed

  • Thread

  • Needle

  • Cotton balls

This is a super simple project, thread your needle, and start threading cotton balls onto your thread! To make it even easier here are a few tips.

  • Work in small sections. String 20-30 cotton balls at a time. Then space as desired and place on tree. My tree has 4 sections total, I just tied the ends together once they were on the tree.

  • Bunch all the cotton balls together until your done with the section, then space them as desired. I found that if I spaced them as I strung them, the section tangled easily.

  • If you meet resistance when trying to string the cotton ball rotate it and try again.

Let me know if you have any questions, and if you decide to try this project, I would love to see pictures! I will be working on our second tree, which is full of colored lights and old school tinsel per my husbands request .... which I love or at least I'm pretending to love.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page