top of page

Toddler Valentine's Day Activities!

We always go a little above and beyond in our house for holidays, especially now that we have children. I will never give up an excuse to decorate or make holiday crafts or treats with my girls. Yes, Valentine's Day can get an little cheesy, but sometimes we all need a little reminder to tell the special people in our lives how much we love them.

Love is best shown by giving your time and attention. Quality time with my girls often consists of music and some type of craft or activity. I have put together a list of my favorite Valentine's Day Activities, all of which we will be indulging in this year! Pick a few of your favorites and spend some quality time with your little valentine's this year!

1. Love You to Pieces Activity

This is a super quick and fun activity you can do with your children. All you need is this printable (made by yours truly), construction paper pieces and a glue stick. My three year old can use the glue stick on her own, but I usually have my two year old show me where she wants her construction paper pieces and then I will rub a little glue on and let her place the paper pieces.

2. Conversation Hearts Stacking Challenge

This is the perfect activity to help develop gross motor skills. I originally found it on Pinterest here, but for my children's ages I don't use a timer or make it a contest. All we do is open a bag of Conversation Hearts and help each other stack the tallest tower!

3. Yoga Pants and Pearls Cupcake Numbers

Alison from Yoga Pants and Pearls always has amazing ideas for little ones! Her ideas are fun for everyone and often educational. Nora has been working on numbers, so when I saw this Cupcake Heart Counting activity I knew we had to try it. We had lots of fun with it and I even got to pick my favorite cupcake at the end and "indulge"!

4. Beaded Necklaces

I came across these beads at Hobby Lobby last weekend. I scored a 500 piece bag for $3.99 plus I got an additional 40% off. To make the necklaces, we used yarn with taped ends for easy threading. Just remember to knot the end or your yarn before you start threading.

Not necessarily a Valentine's Day specific activity, but we used heart shaped beads to help stick to the theme!

5. Heart Scavenger Hunt!

This will take place on Valentine's Day with a couple of the girls from our neighborhood. I will have small paper hearts hidden all over the main floor of our house for them to find and collect! It's a simple idea, but it will get them moving and I know they will have fun! I found this idea here!

I hope these ideas help motivate you to spend a little extra quality time with your own Valentine's!

Enjoy, and Happy Valentine's Day!

Jayna


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page