top of page

Fun Finds - 23 April 2018

We had a jam packed weekend full of small but fun family adventures! My husband is usually the one that does the spontaneous planning but this weekend it was all me! We spent some time on a local Texas Farm, attended the Camp Mabry Air Show in Austin, went to Trader Joe's and had lunch at one of our favorite BBQ places. Below are a few of my favorite finds from this weekend as well as a few new products I discovered during the week! Enjoy!

1. Trader Joe's Strawberry Rhubarb Soda

Friday night, is pizza night in our house! This week I decided to add a homemade desert and I'm so glad I did! I wanted something that went well with pizza but wasn't over the top. Initially, I was thinking Tiramisu but, "ain't nobody got time for that." I found this Italian Almond Pear Cake on Pinterest and it was perfect! It's also really good for breakfast, or so I've heard. The recipe is pretty simple to follow, but here are a few tips!

  • The recipe lists 3.5 oz. of ground almonds as an ingredient for the batter. That's about 7/8 of a cup

  • For the ground almonds, I just took sliced almonds and ground them up in my clean coffee bean grinder until they were a corn meal consistency.

  • I peeled and sliced my pears. The recipe recommends halving them but that just seemed to complicated. Slicing them worked out great, just make two layers.

  • If you don't have a springform pan, use a regular cake pan lined with parchment paper (that's what I did!)

BBQ and a Coffee/Dessert Bar, do I need to say more? Oh, maybe you should know that they were recently named one of the top 50 places to get BBQ in Texas! Seriously, if you live in Central Texas and haven't been, please go!

I am currently trying to revive my natural curls and get my hair to grow, so when I came across this product I had to give it a try. I use it to keep my curls hydrated and it helps me refresh second day hair! Its also great for scalp massaging to promote hair growth! If your hair is prone to grease build up this would be great to use with a deep condition before you wash. Also, it smells AMAZING!

I originally came across Well Watered Women through Instagram. Their post are always so positive and encouraging, if you aren't already following them, I highly recommend it! This particular journal launched this week! They had been sold out of the previous version for months, so I made sure to order mine as soon as possible! It shipped this morning and should be here later this week!

Alright, where are my quilting friends? Then Came June is starting a four week Sew-Along with this pattern today! I just downloaded my pattern and need to get upstairs to start sewing. I know there are a few of you with enough fabric laying around at home that you can get started today too!

Let me know what you think of these fun finds and if you have any fun finds of your own you want to share!

Thanks for reading,

Jayna


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page